ACTRA Ottawa About UsCommitteesNewsroomWhat's ShootingNewsletter

Our Union Member Specializations Our Industry AFBS
ACTRA National
Find a Performer

Erika Rosenbaum is ACTRA Montreal’s 2018 Woman of the Year

To mark International Women’s Day on March 8th, the Montreal branch of ACTRA is proud to recognize the artistic and advocacy achievements of Erika Rosenbaum, naming her the 2018 ACTRA Montreal Woman of the Year.

Erika first began performing at the age of 8, and has been pursuing her love of acting ever since, joining ACTRA more than 15 years ago. She has worked with incredibly talented directors over the course of her career, including Atom Egoyan (Where the Truth Lies), Tony Goldwyn (The Last Kiss), Chazz Palminteri (Noel), Kim Nguyen (The Hummingbird Project) and Jacob Tierney (The Trotsky).

As an advocate, Erika has worked tirelessly, tackling social and environmental issues, both locally and nationally. Among her many acts of volunteerism has been collaborating with students across Canada to develop the Canadian Rights of the Child for the Rio World Summit, and steering a committee dedicated to settling refugee families.

Always a treasured member of the Montreal acting community, Erika has since become an inspiration for so many women across the industry, speaking with candour and courage about her harrowing experiences of sexual harassment.

“There is still much work to be done to improve how women are treated in our industry, but for the first time in my life, I am seeing a surge in awareness and a visible shift towards greater respect between genders,” said co-Chair of the ACTRA Montreal Women’s Committee, Amber Goldfarb. “When I think of Erika, I think of an empowering, brave woman, and a proponent for that change. Her courage to speak publicly about her experiences with Harvey Weinstein inspired many, myself included, to speak their truth and take action. She is truly deserving of our esteem, our gratitude and this award.”

The mandate of the ACTRA Montreal Women’s Committee includes exploring the concerns of female ACTRA members and supporting women within ACTRA and in the audiovisual industry as a whole. Elizabeth Neale and Amber Goldfarb serve as co-Chairs of the Committee. Erika joins past recipients of ACTRA Montreal’s Woman of the Year Lucinda Davis, Joanna Noyes, Jeannie Walker, Jacqueline McClintock, Danette Mackay, Felicia Shulman and Dawn Ford.

National News
To view all ACTRA National Press releases please click here
Local News
2019 Archives
2018 Archives
2017 Archives
2016 Archives
2014 Archives
2013 Archives
2012 Archives
Privacy  |  Legal Text  |  Site Map